Copyright Silhouette School 2016. Powered by Blogger.

How to Delete Silhouette Studio Library Designs...for Good

If you have duplicates or designs in your Silhouette Studio library that just don’t seem to want to be deleted, I want to show you the trick for getting rid of them once and for all.

silhouette cameo library, silhouette studio library, silhouette library designs, silhouette design library

While it may seem that your designs can’t be deleted from the Silhouette Studio library, it’s really just an oddity that makes them appear that they’re still in the library even after you’ve moved them to the recycle folder.
If you are viewing your designs in the “Show All Designs” folder you are literally seeing every designs in your library - including those in the recycle bin.

silhouette cameo library, silhouette studio library, silhouette library designs, silhouette design library, silhouette cameo, silhouette studio tutorials

That means when in the Show All Designs folder, if you delete a design, by right clicking > delete, the design will not appear to have been deleted.

Silhouette Studio designer edition tutorials, Silhouette Studio Software tutorials, Silhouette Design Studio tutorials

In actuality the deleted design has been moved to the recycle bin BUT because you are in the Show All Designs folder you’re even seeing those designs that have been deleted to the recycle bin.


Silhouette Studio designer edition tutorials, Silhouette Studio Software tutorials, Silhouette Design Studio tutorials

To fully delete and eliminate the deleted designs, right click the Recycle Bin folder and click “empty”.  Confirm that you do indeed want to delete the designs permanently. 

Silhouette Studio designer edition tutorials, Silhouette Studio Software tutorials, Silhouette Design Studio tutorials

The designs will no longer appear in your library - at all. Ever. Even in the Show All Designs folder.

This is set up is really not ideal as designs in the recycle bin should never appear in the library unless you are viewing the recycle bin.  Not only does this cause confusion, but it could cause users to accidentally delete (aka send designs to the recycle bin) too many designs thinking their designs are not being deleted for some reason….only to find out all of those designs have been wiped out when the bin is finally emptied.

3 comments

  1. what if they won't delete from your recycle bin?

    ReplyDelete
  2. How about getting my designs back that I saved to my library, but somehow disappeared when this update happened?!?! I saved to my library and they are gone! This has happened twice in the past month!!!! I don't close the programme down now for fear of loosing everything I've ever worked on!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thank you. I kept seeing designs I had deleted. It makes perfect sense now.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for leaving a comment! We get several hundred comments a day. While we appreciate every single one of them it's nearly impossible to respond back to all of them, all the time. So... if you could help me by treating these comments like a forum where readers help readers.

In addition, don't forget to look for specific answers by using the Search Box on the blog. If you're still not having any luck, feel free to email me with your question.